Cannabis recreational use is banned in Florida. Possessing even a little amount of marijuana is an offense. The law is strict. It also defined the punishments for cannabis adult use.
However, medical marijuana is legal in FL. It has been legal since 2016. The law received the support of the majority of voters. It required only 60% of voters’ approval. But 71% of voters were for the law. The law is also known as Amendment 2.
FL fully banned marijuana use. FL also implemented some punishment systems. The punishments apply to cannabis users and sellers. It also applies to the ones who deliver marijuana.
Here are some punishments for using marijuana.
It is also a felony to sell or deliver cannabis. Moreover, there is strict punishment for selling it near schools or colleges. Particularly, if it is within 1,000 feet. The fine may be up to $10,000. The maximum imprisonment is 15 years.
However, there are cities and counties having less strict rules. For example, some cities prefer civil citations for cannabis use.
Additionally, some cities have decided on their own marijuana policy since 2015. Some cities decided to decriminalize a small amount of marijuana. They give ordinances for using cannabis. In its turn, it helps to avoid arrests. Especially, it relates to minor offenses.
The law tries to protect consumer’s criminal records. Because it will hugely affect their future.
There are more than 10 suchlike counties. For instance, Palm Beach, Orlando, Tampa, and so on.
The pioneer was Miami-Dade County. The committee allowed the police not to arrest some consumers. This is, however, optional. They accepted the law in June 2015. But the law is for those possessing less than 20 grams of cannabis. The police can give a civil citation. It will result in a $100 fine.
Now, medical marijuana is legal in FL. In 2016 it became legal. But there was another law before that. Deathly ill patients could use cannabis. It also applied to patients having a year to live.
The new law aimed to permit use for others as well. As long as it can help relieve the patient’s condition.
But the law received much critics as well. Particularly, people were concerned about the injustice. For example, some worries related to small businesses. Some people assumed the barrier to enter the market are not fair. They keep small businesses out of the market.
In the beginning, smoking marijuana was not legal too. But it was until 2019.
Now, cannabis is also legal for smoking.
To legally use marijuana, you need a card. The Florida Department of Health is responsible for medical cannabis cards. There is an Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU) within the department. The OMMU issues cards.
Sometimes it is hard to get proper information. That’s why we collected all the necessary things you need to know. You can follow these steps to get a medical marijuana card in FL.
First of all, you should have a qualifying condition. Only in this case, you can apply for a marijuana card.
First, you need to find a qualified doctor. Because not all doctors are eligible for marijuana card consultancy. Only passing the required training qualifies a doctor. Only after the doctor can issue the certificate.
The OMMU has a doctor’s special list. You can find all the qualified doctors on the list. Additionally, you can get the date you need. For example, the doctor’s city and number are written there. You can also find their working address.
Besides, there is a search tool. You can find there a doctor. The tool helps you to filter your search. Moreover, you can find the doctor you need. It can be possible even by inserting one data. For example, you can write a doctor’s name or city.
The doctor should certify you in case of the following diseases.
Additionally, there may be other qualifying cases. For example, there may be similar conditions. Or the condition may cause severe pains. Also, a qualified doctor can issue a certificate if the disease is deadly. But the deadliness of the disease decides the other doctor. It is done to keep the objectiveness.
After getting a doctor’s certificate you can start the application process. You have to ways to apply. First, you can apply for a marijuana card online. Second, you can submit a paper application by mail.
You can apply online via Medical Marijuana Use Registry (MMUR). But you can’t enter without login credentials. OMMU sends it by email. That’s why you should give your valid email address to your doctor.
Then, OMMU sends your username and temporary password. You can change the password. You use them to enter MMUR.
There is an application guide. It will assist you through the process.
Besides, you must provide some information.
The fee for a card is $75. You can pay online. Each online payment will add $2,75. You can also pay using credit.
The marijuana medical card renewal is annual. You should renew it each year 45 before the card expires. The fee for a renewal is also $75.
Note: FL seasonal residents can also apply for a medical cannabis card. But there should provide other documents. For example, it can be a utility bill and mail from a government agency. They must all be a maximum of 2 months old.
You can use a paper application to apply for a cannabis card. Firstly, you should print the patient application. Then, you must completely fill it. After, you apply State ID photo and proof of residency. You should also include a $75 check or money order. Also, include your Patient ID number. Finally, you should submit it by email. You should send it to the OMMU.
FL issues also caregiver’s medical marijuana cards. You can’t buy cannabis legally for a patient without a card.
To be a caregiver you should meet the following criteria.
You must use the caregiver application form.
The application fee is $75. The renewal is also annual.
Growing marijuana at home is not legal in FL. However, you can get a hemp cultivator license. There is an online Hemp cultivation licensing portal. You can apply there to get a license.
As a marijuana grower, you will have some responsibilities. For example, you should report crop harvest. Additionally, you should submit samples to be tested.
You should know the following information before applying.
If you want also to sell plants you need to register as a nursery.
Division of Plant industry issues marijuana nursery license. The requirements are almost the same as for a hemp grower license. Again, you should pass a background check, have an ORI number, and so on.
The registration of the nursery is annual. You should renew the license each year. The annual fee may range from $35 to $460. The fee is calculated according to the number of locations.
There is a summary of the nursery. You can find more detailed explanations there.
Currently, there are 13 licensed marijuana medical treatment centers (MMTC) in FL.
There are some requirements to operate as an MMTC.