Florida Auction License
The FLHSMV grants ten distinct categories of motor automobiles, recreational automobiles, and mobile home dealer/broker licenses. You can lawfully arrange sales where automobiles are purchased to the highest bidder with this license type. With this type, you may also sell recreational cars at sales.
However, there are a few crucial caveats to be aware of. To begin your auction purchasers must be qualified motor vehicle dealers. Second, a car independent dealer (VI) license is necessary if you want to sell automobiles for retail price. Also, read about the Florida agriculture dealer license.
Requirements for pre-licensing
If you want to become an auto dealer, the following are the necessary things to do for it.
- The FL Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles requires to finish 16 hours of pre-license education. However, these hours can be completed online at your leisure. Just make sure you get your FLHSMV pre-license education hours from an FLHSMV education provider. Your education provider should provide you with a certificate of completion. That is necessary for your certificate request.
- Get your fingerprints taken. Choose a Florida Department of Law Enforcement-approved fingerprinting service provider (FDLE).
- Obtain a surety bond as well as liability insurance for your business. To receive your driver’s certification, you’ll need proof of both. You will need a $25,000 surety bond. Obtain garage liability insurance or general liability insurance. Obtain company auto coverage as well. Make sure you have at least $25,000 in combined single-limit bodily injury and property damage coverage. Besides, you should have $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage.
- To legally operate in FL, you must first register your firm. This is something you can do on the internet. Keep the documents you get from the Division of Corporations since you will need them to submit your application.
- You should lease or get your dealership location: After all, you’ll need somewhere to hold your auctions.
The next stages in obtaining a Florida auction license
You’re ready to go on to the real certificate application process, after, you’ve completed the following tasks. Afterward, only two items are remaining on your to-do list:
- Complete the application. It is accessible in PDF format online. It is 17 pages long, so don’t be put off. The majority of it consists of guidelines on what you must provide for the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to approve your application. Fill out the request. Then send it to the regional office that will be in charge of your dealership. This page can help you locate that office based on your county.
- You must pay the charge. The initial application cost is $300. Besides, you’ll also have to pay a $75 renewal charge every year. Attach the $300 submission fee to it and mail it in with it.
You’ll have to send in a lot of documents to finish the procedure. In addition to the cost, you must include:
- Identification proof
- A copy of your rental agreement or proof of ownership for your dealership location
- Electronic fingerprint-proof
- The certificate proofing that you got finished your 16-hour pre-license training
- A copy of your initial surety bond
- A copy of your registered business name or fictive business name
- Your Division of Corporations business registration certification copy
- The necessary documents proving your company’s legal status
- Proof of appropriate liability insurance coverage
What more should you know?
The approval process takes around a month after you submit. Contact your local regional office, in case you haven’t heard anything about your application after 30 days.
Every year on April 30, you must renew your license. To this end, you’ll need to complete eight hours of continuing education and pay $75 each time.